Covert Operations at The Brooklyn Heights Promenade: An Engagement Story

I rested my head on his right shoulder and looked over at Manhattan.

We were sitting down on a bench at the Brooklyn Heights promenade. We talked about the beautiful skyline and the perfect weather. We admired the view quietly for a few minutes. It was stunning. I casually turned over and noticed someone we knew. “Is that…?”

“Cover blown!” he exclaimed, as he quickly got off the bench and got down on one knee in front of me and presented me with a small, black, velvet box.

My best friend texted me and suggested we get coffee “by that restaurant near the promenade” in the afternoon, around 4:00pm. Heights Cafe I thought to myself. She said that she borrowed her boss’ fancy camera for Thanksgiving this weekend and thought it would be nice to take some pictures at the promenade. I thought this was an adorable idea and I posed it to Beau. He agreed.

We arrived at Heights Café at around 4:00pm and were seated by the waiter when she texts me to tell me that she is stuck in major traffic and will not be able to make it to our 4pm coffee date. I was a little annoyed. She apologized for being late and I apologized for my snarky reply. I turned to Beau and told him I don’t mind that it’s just us because we’re having a romantic afternoon in Brooklyn Heights. I was pleased as punch 🙂

Beau and I finished up and got the check. He ran to bathroom (again) before we finally left to meet up with Bestie and her beau at the promenade for some pictures.  I love to document life’s moments and I was really looking forward to taking group photos together.

As we walked down to the promenade he was pretty quiet. I am comfortable with silence, so I thought nothing of it. I basked in the warmth of the ambiance and felt jubilant to be with the man I love. We strolled, in slow tempo, on its deck.

Then, something peculiar came up.  I noticed a woman that looked eerily similar to my best friend, the one who was running late to our coffee date due to a traffic jam. She looks so much like her, except, there is something off. I glance down at her feet Tina does not have those shoes I think to myself. It’s unequivocally not her. I know her shoe collection, we’ve been best friends for 23 years.

This strange woman seemed to be following us with her camera though. I wanted to tell Beau, but I didn’t want to seem narcissistic and paranoid.  Clearly, this woman was photographing the entire New York City skyline behind us. Silly me.

He picked a random bench and we sat down. He hugged me and I leaned in close to him. I rested my head on his right shoulder and looked over at Manhattan. We gazed at the water silently. It was perfect. I casually turned over when I spotted his best friend, kneeling on the ground, in broad daylight, holding a DSLR camera and taking pictures.
I squinted, “Is that Dmitry?”

“Cover blown!” he exclaimed, as he got down on one knee.  I started to get nervous and excited and giggled hysterically. “Oh my god, oh my god,” I exclaimed over and over again. He went into his jacket pocket and pulled out a small, velvet black box. He opened the box to reveal the prettiest piece of jewelry I had ever seen. He presented the box to me and smiled.

There he was, on one knee, in front of me, holding this little black box and smiling at me…

“Is there something you want to ask me,?” I boldly asked him through all of my nervousness. 

“Will you marry me?” he asked, and we both started to laugh from pure joy in this moment. 

I said yes, we placed the ring on my finger and hugged. From there, I see my best friend running towards us as she removes her wig and sunglasses. It was her the whole time! Dmo ran towards us too. They were all in on it.

It was perfect.

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Covert Operations at The Brooklyn Heights Promenade: An Engagement Story

  1. tina says:

    I will read and reread this story over and over until my grandkids have to read it to me ; ) Love you, Gui and your love story ❤ Can't wait to plan out the wedding!!!!!

  2. C. Buchner says:

    Heh nicely played.

  3. Pingback: Wedding Crunch | brooklyn house love.

  4. Pingback: My Blog Is A Toddler | brooklyn house love.

  5. Tacey says:

    Oh my gosh I’m totally crying! Love!

Leave a Reply

