Planning a Brooklyn Wedding: The Fine Details

It’s finally snowing in Brooklyn! It’s been such a mild winter this year with temperatures reaching the high 50’s almost daily! As I sit in my kitchen sifting through a pile of wedding invitation style samples and look outside of my window at the highly anticipated snowflakes we’ve all been waiting for, I felt inspired to write.


Wedding planning has been easy as pie 🙂 We’ve booked the venue, selected all of our vendors, I found my dress (thanks Mom!), my bridesmaids all selected their individual dresses according to their unique style (they really are the most beautiful group of women in this entire world!), the DJ is booked and happens to specialize in the Greek-Spanish niche of weddings (who knew!) we met with our photographer last night (who is categorically a down-to-earth sweetheart) and we’re down to the invitation style details.

Fiancé is holding his own by taking charge of the desserts, champagne, musical score decisions and has proven to be the master of excel spreadsheets and pivot tables! His budgeting expertise and resourcefulness  paired with my own ingenuity and eye for detail has made the entire process a seamless one. I sincerely could not be marrying a more supportive and accommodating person.

We’ve been engaged for about eight weeks now and I would say we are pretty much done with the planning part. We probably could have gotten married next week but due to the exorbitant amount of wedding costs we need time to work, work, work and save, save, save.

It always strikes me that whenever I say the word “wedding” the price of said service (or product) exponentially increases ten-fold. I made a cartoon to describe what the process feels like when shopping around for your big day.

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Planning a Brooklyn Wedding: The Fine Details

  1. April says:

    I am so impressed that you did this so quickly. It is a daunting task. And your cartoon is SPOT ON!

  2. C. Buchner says:

    I wonder if keeping it on a need-to-know basis would keep your costs low. Like, if not wedding-exclusive services were just told it’s a party, and wedding-exclusive were let in on it, maybe that’d balance it out enough.

    Hmmm…that could be a fun experiment….

  3. Anonymous says:

    love that cartoon! it’s like the oatmeal! do you read that?

  4. Anonymous says:

    yes, I do. I love the Oatmeal. It’s inspired by the memes on reddit though.

  5. Cami says:

    You got so much done so quickly! I have been searching for brooklyn venues much like you and if you don’t mind sharing, I am dying to find out what you chose because it sounds right up my alley!

Leave a Reply

