Backyard Makeover: Part II

The cobblestone floor is almost done and we’re about halfway through painting each fence. As with any project, we started off with a small idea that just kept growing. Initially, we were only going to paint our old fence a new color. After putting down a new floor and buying new patio furniture, might as well upgrade the darn fence too! 

Lé me, painting the finishing touches on one fence.

Still a way to go.

Backyard before <– imgur

Backyard mid-way through our renovation

I was overwhelmed with emotion yesterday when I paused from painting to take a breath. Fiance was drilling nails into the 2×4 reinforcers we were using to hold up

 

our new fence. Caesar was meticulously cutting leftover cobblestone pieces and carefully inserting them like a jigsaw puzzle. My future father-in-law, Amado, was painting our old wooden table a lustrous creme beige with such finesse and care. My mother was sweeping the dirt and debris away from the stairs and tidying up. My future mother-in-law, Dulce, was pouring water from a pitcher to bring out to everyone working so diligently. I thought to myself I am such a fortunate person. I become a mush at sentimental moments and this was definitely one of them.

The reason I document my stories is to remember what we felt like through each phase of our renovation. I especially documented this moment as it reflects how loved, cherished and valued I feel to be surrounded by such wonderful people in life.

Here is a special shout out to our mothers, who are always so supportive of us, providing us with encouragement, a nurturing cornerstone and unconditional love and help along the way.

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Backyard Makeover: Part II

  1. wow this is great. working together with family is fun. When ever i give a thought of painting i prefer to do with my family to but i love to use voc paints. a healthy way of painting.

Leave a Reply

