Greenwood Heights Beer Garden

I am so excited to be writing about the new Greenwood Heights Beer Garden aptly called ‘Greenwood Park’. It’s located on Seventh Avenue between 19th and 20th streets.

Ted Mann, the owner, envisioned an eco-friendly place built with recycled materials where locals can come together and drink in harmony šŸ™‚ That is exactly what this is! It definitely has an industrial feel to it. Recycled crates are used for walls decorated with old plant boxes on top of them. Used car garage doors serve as entrance/exit points and an old wood burning stove adds a retro touch to the decĆ³r. Black-painted cinderblocks make a streamlined backdrop while a clean steel countertop gives it a sleek, modern feel.

TheĀ landscapingĀ outside ranges from small pebbles, gravel, clean concrete and rocks. There is a huge boulder next to one of the tables which doubles as additional seating. I think I saw oil barrels serve as garbage cans but this was a few Sangria’s in šŸ˜‰

Did I mention the huge bocce ball section on the other side of the garden? Three lanes, if I am not mistaken.

I especially enjoyed that even though it’s a beer garden and full bar, it’s a family friendly place where I saw parents running after their toddlers and small tykes enjoying french fries, watermelon and rolling around in dusty pebbles.

I highly anticipated the grand opening of Greenwood Park and it did not disappoint. This is the perfect summer hang out spot. Thanks Ted, you da Mann!

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Greenwood Heights Beer Garden

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’d love to learn more about the contractor/designer of this place.

Leave a Reply

