The Benefits of Eating Socially: Inspirations Abound

I am fortunate to have a tight-knit little group at work. I recognize that and am grateful for it. No matter how crazy the day, I always have a genuine, sincere person I can turn to for advice, guidance and a shoulder to lean on. One huge benefit (other than the work productivity increase and general merriment that occurs when we get together) is that we encourage each other to make healthier food choices. Since the new year, we’ve also been making/preparing and cooking our own meals to share at lunchtime.

Anyone who knows me at all knows that I can be a little bit of a health food nazi šŸ™‚ I do not count calories (who the hell has the time?!) but I do make sure that what I eat is nutrient-dense and is devoid of polysyllabic scientific chemicals that I can’t pronounce (read: highly processed foods). I’m an avid food label peruser and staunch advocate for theĀ consumptionĀ of raw, whole foods as much as possible!

So where was I? Ahh, yes. Our little group consists of Jasmin, Janice and I at the core. Sometimes Kathy will join in or Judiemarie will pop her head and say something snappy. Stacy and Hadier recently joined us for sushi on two separate occasions. My point is: we’ve got a good thing going here and I felt inspired to share this with you.

Today’s dish was inspired by Janice, who I refer to as “Work Mom”. She has such a loving, caring way about her and it’s almost therapeutic to hear her talk about the heart and soul she puts into the foods she makes for her kids. So this was inspired by my “Work Mom” Janice.

A twist on the Middle Eastern dish by replacing Bulgar with quinoa.

A twist on the Middle Eastern dish by replacing Bulgar with quinoa.

Paired the quinoa tabouleh with a kale/avocado salad. The flavors are light and crisp and made for a very refreshing meal.

Paired the quinoa tabouleh with a kale/avocado salad. The flavors are light and crisp and made for a very refreshing meal.

 

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Benefits of Eating Socially: Inspirations Abound

  1. aprilbd says:

    That looks awesome!

  2. jazz says:

    Im almost famoso!!!!!! Okay after today, i agree to share Janice..lol…i love our lunch minutes and ur infectious love for nutritious food!!!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    You are both the bomba,,,,,I am blessed with such great friends!

  4. tina says:

    You, April, and hopefully Roy, would be proud of me! Made an amazing stew with curry, turmeric, and cumin… So flavorful!! I’m loving my whole living action plan. This week i get to incorporate quinoa too. This dish looks perfect for me this week. Thanks for sharing.

  5. aprilbd says:

    Yay! Recipe?

    P.S. Maya, if you’re not on Pinterest for recipes, you’re missing out. Beware, you could lose hours on there…

Leave a Reply

