My Experience with LASIK

After reading about, hearing about and interviewing people who have done it, I scheduled an appointment for a LASIK consultation with Dr. Dello Russo in Brooklyn. Tatyana was my point person there and she is as sweet as can be. She took pictures of my cornea and explained the entire procedure. She actually complimented my cornea a lot going on and on about perfect measurements, ideal candidate, ‘this was made for you’ and yadda yadda. I was pleasantly surprised to hear about my near perfect corneas and batted my eyes in agreement. I was the perfect candidate for LASIK and so I made my appointment for Monday.

The procedure can be summed up in 10 simple steps which took approximately 6 minutes from start to finish.

  1. You sign 10 pages, back and front, indicating that you’re aware “shit happens”.
  2. They slip you a Xanax. I didn’t particularly need it but I took it for good measure.
  3. You mosey on over to the operating room where the magic happens.
  4. The doctor’s assistant explains the procedure to you but I didn’t listen to anything she said until I heard “then you’re going to smell something burning,” but the Xanax had already kicked in and I so I let that part slide.
  5. You lay on a chair and they start with one machine that “creates the flap”. They patch up one eye, tape the other eye open, insert something and then BLACK. Just like the Sopranos finale. Everything just goes black. They repeat this for the other eye.
  6. super novaNext, they swivel you over to the adjacent machine and tell you to look into the light. The convergence of colors here is quite trippy. It felt like space travel à la Jodie Foster in the movie ‘Contact’ or what a super nova might look like.
  7. Then enters the stench of “something burning”. This is very uncomfortable when you’re in such a vulnerable position and your eye is exposed but I never, ever felt pain, only pressure. I imagine this was the the laser itself reshaping the cornea (those lovely darlings of mine.)
  8. A bit more ‘space travel’ a bit more ‘look into the light’ a dash of encouragement from the assistant telling me I am doing “just fine” and to keep “breathing deeply”.
  9. He doused my eyes with liquid drops while the assistant removed the lenses they placed over them.
  10. Done.

Goodbye forever glasses!

Banana Glasses

Banana Glasses – I’m going to go use my eyes to see things now 🙂

Post Op (48 hours): My right eyelid feels like sandpaper, which is very uncomfortable as you can imagine. Left eye is healing like a boss, no pain or discomfort there. I have to wear sunglasses around the house for 2 days (sensitivity to light) and Husband has taken to calling me Neo, which is fine because Neo possesses superhuman strength, which is how I now feel, because I can see 🙂

Post LASIK, 48 hours.

Post LASIK, 48 hours.

Post Op (72 hours): Feeling so much better today! If my eyelid felt like 100% sandpaper two days ago, it feels like 20% sandpaper today. I still have that grainy feeling and a tiny painful sensation once in a while throughout the day, but mostly am feeling fine and can walk around without the sunglasses as long as I am indoors. They do get dry though and these drops are like crack! Treated myself to a ‘wash & blow’ today because pampering yourself is always nice 🙂

Post Op 72 hours

Post Op 72 hours

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn, Writing, Poetry and Haiku and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Experience with LASIK

  1. RIVA says:

    INTERESTING! I HAD LASIK WITH DR. DELLO RUSSO. (THE BEST AND ONLY PLACE TO GO.) THEIR TECHNOLOGY BLOWS EVERYBODY ELSE AWAY AND NOBODY HAS THEIR EXPERIENCE. i NEVER, NEVER SMELLED ANYTHING BURNING. I GUESS EVERYBODY HAS A DIFFERENT EXPERIENCE. I WENT TO WORK THE NEXT DAY FOR TWELVE HOURS, AND NEVER FELT A THING.
    CHOW, RIVA

  2. Mark says:

    What was your pre-op prescription?

  3. Chris says:

    Could you share with us how much you paid? I’m also concerned that reviews on Yelp for this doctor are possible fake; everyone gave him 5 stars. Other Lasik doctors realistically received 3 and 4 stars. Thanks.

  4. Chris says:

    Sorry forgot to mention, because of the Yelp reviews, I trust what you say on a blog like this over other people and will most likely visit this doctor to correct my vision.

  5. Desiree says:

    This makes me feel so much better! I just had it done today, about six hours ago, and my eyes feel like sandpaper now. Hoping tomorrow is better!

  6. bryguyf69 says:

    Why are you on the computer or smartphone just 6 hours after surgery?? 🙂

  7. bryguyf69 says:

    How much was your surgery? I’m considering giving the surgery as gift for someone and would like to get a rough number. Since I’m considering it as a gift, I obviously can’t bring the recipient there for a consult and then change my mind because it’s too expensive! Now that would be embarrassing. Thanks for the very informative description.

  8. bryguyf69 says:

    Is Xanas all they give you? I thought that your eyes are anesthetized with eyedrops to prevent pain and blinking. Your description of everything suddenly going black is also kinda scary. ugh.

Leave a Reply

