Simple Split Pea Soup

I had two wisdom teeth extracted two nights ago. Not sure why they call them wisdom teeth. I can think of a few four-letter-words that might be more suitable to describe the pain and agony one goes through when these supposed teeth of wisdom appear, but that’s not what this post is about. This post is about good old split pea soup (in puréed form) because that’s about the only thing making me smile these days.

I am not a strict vegetarian however, 90% of the meals I make at home fall under that category. Sure, I bake the occasional chicken, broil salmon and enjoy turkey burgers but more often I am incorporating whole fresh vegetables, grains and legumes into one fabulous meal. Today’s meal is vegetarian split pea soup.

We start with the basics:

The Basics

Fresh green onions, red onion, celery, carrots, garlic and bay leaves. I chopped these up and sautéed them in a deep pot. After the onions caramelized I added the split peas, filtered water and broth.

adding the green split peas

Next I brought the vegetable medley to a vigorous boil for ~2 minutes.

hodgepodge of veggies

I turned that down and let it simmer for ~40 minutes and in small batches I puréed the soup using my blender. Once I finished I poured the baby food like consistency back into the pot and let it simmer for another 5 minutes.

post blender goodness

Just add some salt and fresh pepper and voilà! Simple, easy peasy, vegetarian split pea soup.

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simple Split Pea Soup

  1. Pingback: Cherry Kale Smoothie | brooklyn house love.

Leave a Reply

