Cherry Kale Smoothie

I still can’t eat solids so I have to be creative with my meals or soup every day gets boring quick! Today for lunch I made a hearty & filling smoothie loaded with antioxidant fighting cherries, superfood green kale, potassium rich bananas and added vanilla protein to give it some staying power. Sometimes I use almond butter or peanut butter for my protein but today I am feeling vanilla-y πŸ™‚

First wash and add the raw kale to your blender. I don’t have anything fancy. Just a regular $30 Oster blender that I’ve been using for years.

kale

Look at all that curly goodness!

20130307_140858

Next add a few slices of frozen banana. I always keep frozen bananas in my fridge for a delicious and healthy dessert or to have handy for smoothies. I wait until they are really ripe (like Mr. Brown Banana) and then I chop it up and store it in my freezer. It’s yummy, creamy, heavenly goodness πŸ™‚

20130307_141129

Then, add a handful of frozen cherries and a scoop of protein powder (or almond butter, peanut butter, whatever butter). I found this at a big box chain but you can go with fresh cherries too, just make sure they are pitted! Frozen ones are nice to keep for a snack or smoothie. Plus, they are high in dietary fiber. Also, they taste like sex.

Frozen Pitted Cherries

This is what it looks like: kale, protein scoop, banana, cherries and ice. Β 20130307_141410

Add 1 cup filtered water and a splash of almond milk and boom! Cherry Kale Green Smoothie that isn’t even green (but it is!) πŸ™‚ I used kale to beef up the nutritional value but any green works (collard greens, chard, spinach).

Cold, creamy, tasty smoothie

Cold, creamy, tasty smoothie

Normally, I enjoy this goodness with a straw but, I am relegated to a teaspoon and have to tilt my head sideways. You’re lucky because you can use a hot pink straw! All that goodness in one glass. So delicious. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

Cherry Kale Vanilla

Cherry Kale Vanilla

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cherry Kale Smoothie

  1. Tacey says:

    I HAVE to try this!

Leave a Reply

