30 Day Challenge: Bikram Yoga

I always hated yoga. When the topic came up in conversation I would quiet down and keep my opinion to myself since it’s pretty much sacrilegious to say anything negative about yoga. Who doesn’t love yoga for Christs sake!

People like yoga the way people enjoy a nice dessert. It fills you up inside, puts you in a good mood, you let out a long sigh and nod in agreement that everyone had a good time. When you meet that one person who says, “No thank you, I don’t like sweets” heads roll back like “whaaaaaaaat?!” That’s always the reaction I received whenever I told people I don’t like yoga (or sweets!)

NYCDOE employees are off this week for Spring Break (if you’re politically correct), Easter (if you’re Christian) or Pesach (if you’re Jewish). My good friend Natalie also happens to be off and told me about this “30 day hot yoga challenge” that her yoga studio was offering. I’ve tried yoga and never liked it but hot yoga intrigued me. Something about a group of contortionists in a 105 degree room for 90 minutes sounded oddly and unexpectedly appealing to me.  And so, I tried my first class last night.

I get it now. I revel in it’s sweaty glory and can’t wait to go back again tonight. Yoga To The People  is the studio in Williamsburg where I decided to sign up for my challenge (mostly because of 100% because of Natalie)!

Bikram Yoga of India

Photo courtesy of bikramyogatri-cities.com

 

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Day Challenge: Bikram Yoga

  1. I know so many people who were so negative about yoga, till they tried hot yoga. I love hot yoga which is design to do exercises in similar environment to India, where yoga is originally from. I do recommend to everyone to try it one day.

Leave a Reply

