Brooklyn Kitchen Remodel: The Brainstorming Phase

I have been thinking about re-doing my kitchen a whole lot lately. There isn’t anything wrong with it, it just isn’t my style. We currently have a large space (14′ x 17′) that isn’t being utilized to its full potential. Whereas I wanted a small update (paint cabinets, add backsplash, new countertop), Husband decided a gut renovation would be better use of our time and mula. Who am I to disagree?

IMG_0184

Current state of the cabinets

IMG_0185

View of kitchen from the living room

IMG_0192

Windows

IMG_0191

I am visiting a few of the smaller kitchen cabinet stores in Brooklyn, looking for inspiration for color and style. Functional kitchen design is the most important element to me. Who cares how pretty it looks if you can’t comfortably spend time in the room?

I want a kitchen that flows well and lends itself to ample room, prep space, cooking and entertaining guests. That’s my life and my kitchen should reflect that. In addition to the smaller shops, I am checking out Lowe’s, Home Depot and IKEA, of course.

I really love throwback design that evokes a sense of days long gone.  I see mason jars, glass milk bottles and a wooden chopping block. I envision my kitchen as the family gathering place where we’ll host dinner parties for our friends and family, and birthday parties for our kids. It will serve as meeting place of the house where the family can get together, tell stories and share our daily experiences. I get sentimental just at the thought of it all 🙂

I envision a bay window overlooking my backyard so I can keep an eye on the kids while they run amuck. I see a Farmhouse sink, big enough to wash a baby in, with an old-fashion style faucet. I love the look of a simple curtain beneath the sink, as opposed to cabinetry, where I’ll keep a small dustpan and extra sponges. I am in love the white subway tile backsplash against clean, creamy cabinetry. Finally, the island I have always wanted, right in the middle of the kitchen, with extended countertop space and room for bar stools.

It’s very exciting (and scary) to be planning a complete remodel of our kitchen. The permanency of these decisions makes them weighty. A friend of mine jokingly said I have a First World Problem on my hands because I was dwelling over what color my new cabinets should be and whether or not I want them to be distressed. That really put things into perspective because, it’s a nice problem to have 🙂

Here are a few pictures of my personal kitchen style and some photos I am collecting for my mood board. This helps me determine whether or not an idea “fits” into the type of look I am going for.

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

