My Mother’s Carne Asada: A Sunday Family Tradition

Carne Asada simply stands for grilled meat. It’s a typical Nicaraguan dish that is simple, flavorful and hearty. Every Sunday, my mother prepares carne asada with rice, vegetables, tortilla and soup. The family custom is now crystalized.

The simplicity of this recipe amazes me. We begin with lean cuts of beef. All the seasoning you need is pictured here. Salt, pepper, onion, scallions, green peppers and lime. That’s it!

20130702_155325

 

Mix all ingredients, drizzle extra virgin olive oil over it and marinade overnight.

20130702_160524When you are ready to cook it, have your charcoal grill ready. The charcoal grill really gives the meat a distinct, smoky flavor.

20130804_195106Now, Husband and I grill meat anywhere between medium rare to medium. My mother’s family (like many Latino families) like to cook steak well done. I have tried explaining steak etiquette to them but this is an area where we agree to disagree. The carne asada is still delicious!

20130804_195131Served with rice, a simple tomato salad and a slice of avocado. It is as delectable to eat as it is simple to make. The perfect Sunday dinner with family.

20130804_195353

I tried being a vegetarian once while I was in college. I failed. A life without carne asada is not one I want to live 🙂

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Mother’s Carne Asada: A Sunday Family Tradition

  1. Charlotte Hayes says:

    YUMMM 🙂

    <3, Charlotte

  2. We share same traditions. I love me some Carne Asada. Soy Salvadoreña, and this is also one of my traditions. Although, we don’t eat it every Sunday, but when we do, we eat tons! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

