Brooklyn Kitchen Remodel: DIY Demo

Let me start by saying that removing your own kitchen cabinetry is not only a good way to save money on contractor costs, but also the best way to ruin a manicure 🙂

Now that we have those two facts out of the way, I dedicated today to removing everything in our cabinets and placing the items in boxes. Later on in the final phases, everything will be orderly and I’ll know my pantry stock from my pots & pans. I removed each cabinet door, piece by piece, being sure to save the screws in a ziplock bag.

CabinetsOf course, going through all of this work, I started to appreciate them. I actually think that they look kind of nice.

20130809_112514

20130809_163753

20130809_12090020130809_120907

The living room, doubling as storage space. This is my ‘Organized Chaos’.Living Room

Current state of affairs

Current state of affairs

I kept the doors stacked neatly to later wipe down with a warm washcloth. I preserved them to either sell, or donate, so I wanted to make sure they remain in good condition. Between the craigslist ad and the request to donate, they were bound to end up somewhere soon.

20130809_163841

My little inspector

My little inspector

By the time I removed all of the doors Husband came home. He was impressed with my work and decided we should continue. He got out his handy drill, and we proceeded to remove the cupboards too (not part of the initial plan).

20130809_190529

Before we knew it, someone responded to my craigslist ad indicating he was interested in buying my cabinets! We worked swiftly to remove the final pieces with meticulous care.

In the end, here is our partial DIY gut of the kitchen cabinets, countertop and sink.Gutted cabinets, countertop and sink

Gutted cabinets, countertop and sink

We leave for vacation soon, so not having a kitchen isn’t a big deal for now. The real demolition happens once we get back. Stay tuned friends! 

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn, Gowanus and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brooklyn Kitchen Remodel: DIY Demo

  1. curt says:

    Looking forward to your remodel! I can see that you are as meticulous as I am. Good luck!

  2. curt says:

    Hi Maya – I totally understand. It’s easy to spend a lot of time and money on projects. I should know – I’m 4 years in our reno and could have built a new house for what this one has cost – but really, it’s been a blast.I’m sure yours will turn out amazing! And all the experience you will gain will serve you well throughout your life.

  3. Aimee Lee says:

    Can’t wait to see how the project turns out! I have been wanting to repaint my kitchen cabinets for years, but it seems like such an overwhelming task. Good luck!

  4. Brad says:

    Looking good! Just touched based with your husband over email. Turns out we are neighbors. We have plenty (probably too much) advice in this area.

Leave a Reply

