Athens & Patras, Greece

​Currently blogging from Athens, Greece at my cousin Leonida’s fabulous apartment which is a stone’s throw away from the Acropolis! 🙂

Acropolis

Acropolis

Parthenon

Parthenon

Husband and I just visited the city of Patras, where my father and his family are originally from. We walked around the city center and spent some time browsing the stores. Architecturally, Patras has beautiful influences from ancient Greece and Rome with Greek columns, Venetian arch windows, verandas, French doors and charming narrow streets. It is a beautiful European city with style, class and a delightful architectural appeal. We went to Agios Vasilios for swimming. Thea Noula (Aunt Noula) is the mayor of Agios Vasilis and you can’t walk for two whole minutes without having someone stop to say hello and catch up with her.

Agios Vasilios beach is a small gulf nestled between the Ioanian and Aegean sea. It is a beach village enjoyed by locals in the area and some visitors from surrounding Greek cities and townships. It’s never been a tourist location for the 28 some odd years I’ve been visiting. This is as local as it gets. I think I mentioned this on my blog before, but in case I haven’t, Husband and I always look for the “Brooklyn” of where we travel. Everyone who comes to NYC wants to visit Times Square and go to the Empire State Building, and that’s fine. I recommend that you do those things, but nobody lives in those areas. People live in outer boroughs like Brooklyn or Queens. We like to visit those types of places when traveling.

I got to see Christos, owner of the Almiriki restaurant that has been at Agios Vasilis beach for the last 28 years! I used to come here as a kid with my father to enjoy some souvlaki and ice cream by the beach. I have so many fond memories of this beach and it was a pure delight to see that Christos is still here, running the Almirki restaurant all these years later.

We’re back in Athens now after having a fabulous time in Patra, Rio and Agios Vasilis. Next, we hit the Greek islands!

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

