Love, laughter and chatter fill the air. The story of a successful kitchen renovation.

It’s been a hot minute.

So much to fill you in on, so I will just get right to it. Our kitchen renovation is finally finished. We endured four months sans kitchen, a fire to cook with, a sink to rinse in, a floor to walk on and walls that enclose, provide privacy and distinguish our abode from the outside world. All the grueling work, stress, deadlines, mistakes, painstaking details and  up ticking financial burden came to an abrubt halt once the last stroke of paint dried. Finally, we could exhale.

Le sigh.

Peace, tranquility and calm now flow in our space. The positive energy is palpable. Love, laughter and chatter fill the air where dust and drills once were. The worries of the past are just that and everything about the heart of our home is as we imagined it. It is marvelous 🙂

I was not alone in this process and am lucky enough to have a talented and creative interior designer that I am happy to call my sister-in-law. Claudia (of Claudia Gisele Design) consulted with me on so many of those painstaking details and helped me articulately express the vision and idea I had in my mind and helped me execute it to perfection. Sometimes, we may know what we like but not how to go about attaining it. Claudia helped to make those thoughts a reality. From our lighting consultation, to our window dimensions to the glamorous and fun powder room we have – I owe her tremendous gratitude for her work.

The nice thing about working together on this project are the memories we will always share about devising and designing in this space. Claudia and I DIY’d the stenciling in the powder room which we both presumed would be “a fairly easy task”. Seven hours and two wine bottles later we found ourselves on the floor, guffawing, realizing we may not be as skilled at DIY as we’d like to think we are . We made some blunders but those “flaws” tell a story. It’s a story about two sisters coming together, sharing a vision, expressing their creativity and having fun – all in the name of designing an interior that expresses individuality and imagination. I look at that metallic stenciled wall from time to time and laugh to myself over the memories we created while undergoing that project. Also, I will never paint anything again!

Just kidding.

The next phase of our renovation will be the living room. Now that the kitchen is complete the adjacent barren space is beckoning my name. What ails? The living room wants to feel as alive as the kitchen.

Professional photos will follow this post. Stay tuned.

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

