When Moonlit Paths Became The Sun: A Memoir

I still remember the bridge of your nose
My small fingers pressed against your cheeks
Laying my little head to rest against your chest
I nuzzled in the space of your neck
I could hear the buzzing of your voice
So soothing to my ears
I close my eyes and I smile,
With my lips but also with my soul
 
I know I’m safe when I’m with you
Protector of my life and guardian of my being
I dart up to clutch your face
And hug it
Daddy’s little girl…
The prettiest girl in the world is always what you called me
My tears were like diamonds, you told me
Serenading me with eponymous songs
You really did adore me
 
I beamed with worth and pride
Together, we walked in stride
“Agazeh”, you’d say 
And envelop my arm in yours
The happiest little girl
‘Twas us against the world
 
Yet still, I sensed your desolation  
Precociously, observing the pattern of your walk
Your emotion, speech and thought
My little eyes could see
The sadness which prevailed
It was not tucked away
Or buried beneath a veil
 
Your confidante I was,
A truly devoted love
The moonlit path we strolled
Longstanding songs we sung
Timeworn and from your past
Before my breath and my thought
Your contemplation reflected in the moonlight
Also, reflected in my path
Telling of my future and my past
Right before these child-like eyes
A tale to tell of many lives 
 
And sometimes the moonlit path heard songs unsung 
And sometimes moonlit paths became the sun. 
 
 
 
About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn, Writing, Poetry and Haiku and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

