Labyrinthian Swirls

I stumbled upon a Labyrinth and curious of me
I walked inside it’s corridors, inquisitive and free
I wanted an experience, simply wanted to see
All those swirling crossroads intersecting 
Inlaid their grip on me 
 
Stop to smell the Hyacinths
A moment to reflect and ponder 
Music plays in my ear but you can’t hear it over yonder
I posses the melody … 
A mollifying tranquilizer 
Revealing what I’ve been concealing
So appealing… 
To me 
The labyrinth is holding a nocturnal dream  
So out of my reach 
Illusions are not what they seem 
Evidently 
Yet eventually
Should I pursue my dreams? 
Or leave things to be in the way that they seem? 
Do not disillusion me 
Opulent oculus 
Peripheral and ethereal 
 
Now, stop to smell the Irises 
A blooming flower opening, wide like the smiling sun 
It’s rays engulfing every path 
Be very weary of it’s wrath
Fly too close and you’ll get burned 
Just like Icarus (remind me again, did he learn?) 
 
Check your hubris at the door 
You are nothing but a mortal whore 
Delving into what you wish to explore 
Epicurean pleasures proliferate 
Perpetually, what you’ve lived for
Life’s little treasures 
Indulge my senses, make me smile 
Why the hurry, stay a while…
 
Now, stop to smell the Jasmine 
Let her perfume make you drunk 
Fill your nostrils with her fragrance 
Close your eyes and let her take you 
Nape of neck 
Redolent stretch 
 
There are those swirling roads again, intersecting, crossing paths 
Like bamboo curls embracing each other
Enveloping a greener pasture 
Envisioning that kind of life 
Deliver me from stodgy strife
Burrow my head into dreams of seems…
Ignoring all signs
I’m living out dreams 
In spite of my reality 
 
But what then is reality?  
How do I know for sure? 
This labyrinth confuses me 
Befuddling inner psyche
Shushing voices, creating silence 
Inner turmoil, releases violence 
 
There go those swirling roads again, intersecting at the ends 
Where do you start?
Where do you begin? 
Entangled matrix of virtue and sin 
 
A lark flies through the dawn; first light
Morning sun breaks Eastern flight
Effectuation came upon
Before my eyes and now I see
Repressing my own consciousness
A bottomless synopsis lifts
How could I have been so blind to this?
I live inside this Labyrinth
 
About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Writing, Poetry and Haiku and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

