Untitled (Drive)

Let the Driver take the wheel
He will steer your own direction
Let Him guide you down this path
He will help you make corrections…
But wait, Driver, I have an appeal
Sorry, there is no time for objections
Just sit tight and listen up
Really young child, must you question!
 
The road ahead already paved
We’ve started this trip, just make way
But, I see brick walls and obstacles
Can you just turn the other way?
Must you always question me!
I am always right, you see
The scriptures show, it’s in the Book
Here, let’s just have another look
 
Apologies to you, from me
But I just see things differently
I know I’ve been told to believe in you
That you are good in all you do
That through your ways and guiding light
I’ll be a good girl
And lead the good life
That I will walk through eyes of needles
With camels and paupers and minds feeble
That kings and great men will be stopped at the gates
Philosophers and freethinkers, in your eyes – mistakes
The greatest men to ever roam
Poked and prodded and shook the throne
They gazed at the stars and produced revelations
Far better than your supposed “Creations”
 
Bite your tongue
Young heathen one
All I’ve done for you, undone
I am the Truth, the Light, the Way
You must be silenced
You must pray
You must study
You must learn
Lest you experience the fiery burn
Don’t anger me
You’ll feel my wrath
I control your future path
I command you,  
I steer the wheel
Monopolizing every meal
That’s fed to you and to your soul
Supremacy and ultimate control
 
But so many teachings with which I don’t agree
So many lessons that bedevil me
Not to mention the exclusivity
All those souls in captivity
You have some peculiar proclivities
Particularly,
The scarves, headbands, top hats and dress
Calendars and systems,
Traditions and difference
Can we not include everybody?
Why a single focus on Chosen?
If we’re all your children
Why leave some frozen
So much disdain toward sensuality, toward ladies
I know because you condemn them all to Hades
And of our friends who do not conform
Homosexuals and deviants who betray the norm
People with piercings, indelible ink and such
I will expose you now
I will rake the muck
They must take refuge, they must take flight
Reverberations of human rights
The hate you breed
It isn’t right!
 
The hypocrisy makes my head swell
I know what I’ve been told
All too well
Every seventh day to sit with my Book
I did read it through, I took a close look
These questions remain and burned in me
The teachings with which I no longer agree
I want to drive my own car now
You’ve taught me nothing
I’m leaving
Ciao
 
Onward to create my own destiny
I am the one to write my own history
Using my voice to tell my story
Please move over and hand me the key
 
I’ll use my own will
I’ll use my own drive
I can say now, I’ve never felt more alive
Self-jurisdiction
My own conviction
The blindfold is off  
Absence of infliction
Pursuing knowledge, my new addiction
A final thought: This is a self-benediction
About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Writing, Poetry and Haiku and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Untitled (Drive)

  1. dayzha says:

    Brilliant! May I re-blog?

Leave a Reply

