Neurotic Euphoria

You can let your hair down
When you are with me
I am all rolled up and ready, euphoric leaves 
Rock n roll, hip hop, jazz and soul
I can be whatever you want me to be
 
I can be in your head
I can be in your body
You can be someone else instead
We’re all welcome to the party
 
Drifted and lifted; previous state shifted 
I could not predict this is how I existed 
The sunshine flows inside my mind and it pines
The time reclines and rewinds in spirals
Five minutes go by and it feels like hours
Feeling like forever is before us
It’s glorious
The world keeps calling me and I’ll just ignore it
 
Panic rises like tides under sunny skies
It’s lifted and drifted and vanishes, capoot
It’s gone, vamoose – the ultimate boot
Cloudy mire and wet swampy ground
This can be a very lonely town
Knots forming in the space that used to be closing
Without a letter or a stamp, no forewarning
Open up and take a sip darling
You’ll need the thirst to quell
Perspicacious discerner
I know you so well
Oh, I know you so well
 
Wallow and revel and smirk with me now
Sensing my pleasures
They feed you somehow
Beneath buried treasures you’ve no time to find
Trying to measure but that just passes time
At this moment, now, let all of that go
Exhale, release, breathe and blow
A cornucopia of dystopia, lock and flow
Gentle seersucker sees crinkled patterns
I conceive Pluto, Uranus and Saturn
Virgo, Orion and Big Dipper in June 
I’m streaming and swooping over craters on the moon
Sensations missing but I am attuned 
 
The entire universe lays within you
Stay with me to unlock it and I’ll see you through
I love when you come and spend this time with me
I only exist within your company
 
You can let your hair down
 When you are with me
I’m all rolled up and ready, euphoric leaves
I’ll be whatever you want me to be
You have the safe word and only you hold the key
Unlock my mystery
Take you home with me
Beckon my name and my sweet – I’ll be ready
Rock fast, rock slow, rock deep and rock steady
About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Writing, Poetry and Haiku and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

