Animalistic

It’s my day off today and I am home being super lazy studying animal behavior. If I had to assign my cats a psychological diagnosis they are paranoid schizophrenics. They experience auditory hallucinations, delusions and vacillate between long periods of inactivity and small bursts of energetic zeal, zest and gusto. I caught Mimi falling asleep and in the same moment, widening her eyes with shock, horror and awe at absolutely nothing.
Mimi’s disability is co-morbid as she cannot help but overdose on catnip whenever it’s around. Una is able to exercise self control in it’s presence – one small hit and Una is good for the night. Mimi, well, she needs to tear through the bag until it’s in tatters and she has no cognizance of who she is anymore. Mimi likes to get lost in it and forget the world sometimes. I’m sure we can relate to that once in a while, no? 
Una is graceful and elegant, like a ballerina – she appreciates when I play Chopin and I swear she smiles when I put on Beethoven. Mimi is a bit rougher around the edges, preferring indie bands (she’s such a hipster but she denies it) silent films and always looks pissed (if she’s happy, it’s by accident). She will sometimes lay around and be really cute, exposing her belly and drawing you in with those big eyes and as soon as you walk over to give her some affection, she runs away — pissed at you for even daring to approach her! She gets a diagnosis of Borderline Personality Disorder and Generalized Anxiety Disorder, Not Otherwise Specified. God I love them though! Crazy and unstable as they are, I wouldn’t have it any other way. They occupy the quiet spaces of my home and breathe into it, life.

 

About Maya

I like words like "labyrinthian," "kerfuffle," and "serendipitous" because they're mellifluous. I love poetry, pumpkin ales, sangria, long summer days, Fall foliage, going out of my way to step on crunchy leaves in October, live music, Jazz, Salsa dancing, theater, film (foreign and indie), the arts (myriad varieties), dance (in theory and practice) and any place where I can sit outdoors and take it all in.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

